Batsman Babar Azam has become the captain of Pakistan’s ODI and T20 teams. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday named Babar Azam as the nation’s new ODI captain, replacing former incumbent Sarafarz Ahmed. He will now lead Pakistan’s limited-overs side in the 2020-21 season

Babar Azam Appointed Pakistan Team New Captain

The Pakistan Cricket Board has selected Azam as captain in two categories. Azar Ali will be a similar Test captain. The board has also selected the captains by announcing the names of 18 players on central contracts for 2020-21.

Earlier, captain Sarfaraz Ahmed was removed and Azam was given the lead. Along with captains Azam and Ali, Shahin Shah Afridi is in Category A.

Miswa-ul-Haq, who is also the head coach and chief selector of the Pakistan team, said he was happy with the selection of the new captain.

The head coach, Misbah-ul-Haq, shared; “I want to congratulate Azhar Ali and Babar Azam for getting captaincy extensions,” adding that this was absolutely the right decision as they also required certainty and clarity on their future roles.

He said that he was sure that they would start looking to the future and start planning so that they could build sides that can perform at the expected levels.

The uncertainty about captaincy was unclear so far since Sarfraz Ahmad was sacked last year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap