SEE Grading System: The Government of Nepal Ministry of Education, Science and Technology Curriculum Development Center Sanothimi, Bhaktapur has introduced a new letter grading system in Nepal for the students of Class 10 to Class 1 from the academic year of 2024. Class 1 to Class 10 examinations will finally come without the pass or fail tag for students. This new grading system was implemented to eliminate the schools from showing the numerical marks on the mark sheet of each student. Here you will get the complete guide on the new grading system for class 1 to Class 10 final exams.

SEE Grading System For Class 10 to Class 1 2081

The new Curriculum Development Center CDC grading system for Class 10 to Class 1 consists of a scale reflecting grades from A to D, comprehensively making it an eight-point grading system. This new grading system was revised to do away with the marking system and old grading system. As per the Curriculum Development Center CDC grading system, the grade “A” is the highest grade while the grade “D” is the lowest grade. The four-point new grading system employed to measure the scholastic achievements of students are given in the below table

Percentage ObtainedGPALetter GradeDescription
90 and Above4A+Outstanding
80 to Less Than 903.6AExcellent
70 to Less Than 803.2B+Very Good
60 to Less Than 702.8BGood
50 to Less Than 602.4C+Satisfactory
40 to Less Than 502CAcceptable
35 to Less Than 401.6DBasic
Less Than 35NGNot Graded

Old SEE Grading System

Marks Range Grade GPA Grade Point
90-100 A+ 4.0
80-90 A 3.6
70-80 B+ 3.2
60-70 B 2.8
50-60 C+ 2.4
40-50 C 2.0
30-40 D+ 1.6
20-20 D 1.2
0 to 20E0.8

CDC Nepal School Grading System For Class 10 to Class 1

The new four-point scale grading system that will require students to get qualifying grades in 7 out of 8 subjects to get promoted to the next higher class. The Curriculum Development Center Sanothimi, Bhaktapur has decided not to carry a pass or fail on the mark sheet of students. The new grading system in Nepal has been introduced to reduce the unnecessary pressure on students.

SEE Grading System in Nepal For Class 10 to Class 1

Convert GPA into Percentage New Grading system

CGPA, which stands for Cumulative Grade Point Average, represents the subject-wise performance of a student in a continuous and comprehensive evaluation. GPA is the average grade point achieved by a student. To provide convenience to students, we have also included a GPA to Percentage table. However, it is important to note that the CDC Nepal states that the percentage is an approximation and not an exact value. Students can refer to the table to find the corresponding percentage based on their CGPA

Grade Percentage GPARemarks
A+ 90-1004.0 Outstanding
A 80-893.6 Excellent
B+ 70-793.2 Very Good
B 60-692.8 Good
C+ 50-592.4 Satisfactory
C 40-492.0 Acceptable
D 35-391.6 Basic
NG 0-35NG Not Graded

Advantages and Disadvantages of the New Grading System

Let us now look in detail at the advantages and disadvantages of new grading system revised by the Curriculum Development Center in education where it is used as an inevitable tool for assessing a student’s performance in school level exams.

Advantages of New Grading system

  • The GPA system allows students to analyze their strengths and weaknesses, enabling them to work on improving their performance.
  • The new GPA system reduces the pressure on students to achieve high marks since actual marks are not mentioned on report cards.

Disadvantages of New letter grading sytem

  • The SEE GPA system does not accurately reflect a student’s performance.
  • Due to the new letter grading system, students may perform less optimally because they know they can achieve the targeted grade even with a few mistakes.

New Letter Grading System Points to Remember

The important notes regarding the class 1 to Class 10 new letter Grading System are tabulated below:

  • The grading system consists of eight types: A+, A, B, B+, C, C+ D, and NG
  • You have to score a minimum of D marks to qualify for the exam.
  • In Class 10 to Class 1 examination, you have to obtain a minimum D grade in each subject

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) – SEE New Grading System

How can I convert GPA into a percentage in Nepal?

To convert GPA into a percentage in Nepal, you can use the following formula: CGPA multiplied by 25 equals the percentage obtained in exam. For example, if a candidate has obtained a CGPA of 2.0, their percentage would be calculated as 2.0 multiplied by 25, resulting in 50%.

What are the eligibility criteria to appear for grade improvement exams?

A candidate who receives a Non-Grade NG in one or more subjects out of the total subjects of the external examination is eligible to give the grade improvement exam in those subjects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *