Real Madrid has once again secured La Liga’s championship, clinching the title with one game still to play after defeating Villarreal 2-1 on Thursday evening.

Real Madrid wins La Liga title: 34th all-time, Defeating Villarreal 2-1

Real Madrid forward Karim Benzema scored the opener with a close-range finish in the 29th minute. In the 75th minute, Real Madrid was awarded a penalty.

Sergio Ramos and Karim Benzema attempted a pass penalty but Benzema was in the box before Ramos touched the ball and the penalty was retaken. Benzema successfully converted the penalty shot to double the lead to 2-0 in the 77th minute.

The title is ‘Real Madrid’s in its history, which is most in the league record books compared to Barcelona’s 26 titles. The triumph extends Los Blancos’ record to 34 league titles – eight more than Barca, who had lifted the past two La Liga trophies.

With this victory, Real Madrid has now won 10 games on the trot, winning every match since the league restarted after the forced break due to the coronavirus pandemic. Madrid has managed to keep up their 100% record after the break caused by COVID-19 and are the champions of La Liga.

This is Madrid’s first league title since the 2016-17 season, and the second under the stewardship of manager Zidane. Just like in 2017, Real have managed to stop bitter rivals Barca from completing a hat-trick of league titles.

Zinedine Zidane said the league would be Real Madrid’s main objective this season, even ahead of the Champions League through which their legend was forged, and now he and his side have delivered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *